Supervisory Board

SEO Amsterdam Economics is a foundation, and has a Supervisory Board. Under the articles of association the Supervisory Board comprises members from the business community and senior lecturers affiliated to the University of Amsterdam. The dean of the Faculty of Economics and Business is, in his capacity as such, a member of the SEO Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board remains ‘hands off’ and has no involvement in individual research.

Mr. Jacques Schraven (Chairman)

Former chairman of the VNO-NCW association, former director Shell Netherlands


Prof. Paul de Beer

Professor by special appointment of Labour Relations, Henri Polak Chair; Researcher at AIAS, University of Amsterdam


Prof. dr. Wim Boonstra (Treasurer)

Professor by special appointment of Economic and Monetary Theory, VU University Amsterdam; Chief Economist Rabobank


Prof. dr. Arnoud Boot

Professor of Corporate Finance and Financial Markets, University of Amsterdam and director of the Amsterdam Center for Law & Economics


Prof. Han van Dissel

Dean, Faculty of Economics and Business, University of Amsterdam; Professor of Business Management, University of Amsterdam


Dr. Jaring Hiemstra

Founder of Hiemstra & De Vries, a midsize consultancy company in The Netherlands